The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times – all hallmarks of a bestseller’ Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

‘I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you’ Sophie Kinsella

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret’s, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret’s. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret’s set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever…

Read her letter. Remember her story…

(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critics Review

  • A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast-paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times – all hallmarks of a bestseller

    Lesley Pearse
  • Compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you

    Sophie Kinsella
  • What a heartfelt emotional story, made even more so because it’s based on a shocking truth. I raced through it, involved, moved and gripped

    Fanny Blake

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.