A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World

Listen to a sample

What to expect

THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU’LL READ THIS YEAR.

You’ll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading’
Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M

‘Fletcher’s suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist’
Entertainment Weekly

‘Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world’
Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks

‘I promise you’re going to love it’
Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

‘Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth’
M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name’s Griz.
I’ve never been to school, I’ve never had friends, in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him – until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.
I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family’s real story is. More about what really matters.

‘This un-put-down-able story has everything – a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs’
Kirkus (starred review)

‘A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking’
Fantasy Hive

‘A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you’ll forget there’s a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender – in any year’
Micah Yongo

Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10′
Starburst

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving story you’ll read this year. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven – Griz’s dystopian tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character’s quest after the apocalypse.

Critics Review

  • Fletcher’s suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins… An adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist

    ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
  • Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth

  • This novel has everything I love about a story: fully realised characters, beautiful writing, and utterly believable, even frightening, world-building . . . I promise you’re going to love it

    Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES
  • A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking . . . I’m still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it

    FANTASY HIVE
  • Family, loyalty, and humanity amid the lonely but beautiful wilderness of the end of the world – with a gut punch you’ll never see coming. That twist! That ending! You’ll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading

    Peng Shepherd, author of THE BOOK OF M
  • Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10

    STARBURST

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.