A Case for Dr Morelle

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Thirteen classic crime dramas featuring Dr Morelle – ‘the man you love to hate!’

Psychiatrist-detective Dr Morelle is arrogant, sarcastic and rude – but when it comes to catching criminals, he is unparalleled. Using deduction, psychological profiling and his keen, analytical mind, he solves cases ranging from blackmail to murder, aided by his devoted and long-suffering secretary Miss Frayle.

Over the course of this series, he investigates the unexplained death of a wealthy French baroness, receives a visit from a man tormented by nightmares, probes the authenticity of a fabled gem and helps a young man in distress – and an old man in danger. Whether it’s a terror campaign against a bride-to-be, death threats made to a temperamental film star, or a case of deadly experiments and thwarted love, no mystery is too baffling and no villain too cunning for the Harley Street sleuth.

First broadcast on the BBC Light Programme in 1957, these 13 detective dramas are collected together here for the first time. British film veteran Cecil Parker stars as Dr Morelle, with Sheila Sim as Miss Frayle.

Also included is a bonus documentary programme, The Radio Detectives: A Case for Dr Morelle, in which Professor Jeffrey Richards delves into the casebook of the cantankerous criminal psychologist.

These episodes have been restored from the original 1957 recordings. Due to the vintage nature of these recordings, the sound quality varies.

Cast and credits
Written by Ernest Dudley
Produced and directed by Leslie Bridgmont

Starring Cecil Parker as Dr Morelle and Sheila Sim as Miss Frayle

Alarm Call
Hotel waiter – Sydney Tafler
Mam’selle Rolin – Tonia Bern
Anthony Winter – Hugh Manning
Hotel receptionist – Molly Rankin
Miss Shawcroft – Kathleen Helm
Audio recovered by BBC Radio 4 Extra listener, Steve Arnold
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 23 April 1957

Confession of Guilt
Inspector Hood – Philip Ray
Paula Webb – Mary Law
Other parts played by Maurice Sweden, Norman Wynne, Hugh Manning, Betty Linton and Alan McClelland
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 30 April 1957

Threat to Kill
Rosalind Knight – Helen Desmond
Miss Curtis – Cecile Chevreau
Ronnie Cavanagh – John Horsley
Maid – Annette Kelly
Mr Ashton – Norman Wynne
Hal Digby – John Sharplin
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 7 May 1957

The Sleepwalker
Helen Keen – Moira Lister
Richard Wilson – Hugh Burden
Inspector Hood – Philip Ray
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 14 May 1957

The Blackmailer
Inspector Hood – Philip Ray
Sir Clifford Forbes – Douglas Young
Lady Forbes – Madeleine Christie
Cynthia Forbes – Ruth Trouncer
Hotel waiter – Haydn Jones
Hotel manager – Humphrey Morton
Lily the maid – Beryl Calder
Matron – Molly Rankin
Harry Fox – Ian Sadler
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 21 May 1957

Voice in the Night
Miss Nicholson – Hester Paton Brown
Billy Boy the dog – Percy Edwards
Mr Nicholson – Alan McClelland
Superintendent Denham – Fred Yule
Station officer – Alan Keith
Julian Smith/Taxi driver – John Baker
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 28 May 1957

The Will
David Beaumont – David Spenser
Henrietta Vickers – Nan Kenway
Herbert Vickers – Douglas Young
Darryl – Will Leighton
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 4 June 1957

Act of Violence
Major Penfold – Ralph Truman
Robert Benson – Trevor Martin
Professor Stenberg – Martin Miller
Girl – Louise Gainsborough
Clerk of the Court – Will Leighton
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 11 June 1957

The Black Ruby
Guy Hampton – Norman Woodland
Sonia Hampton – Virginia Winter
Helen Reynolds – Louise Gainsborough
Bill Reynolds – Richard Bebb
Aubrey Green – Desmond Carrington
Airline captain/various – John Baker
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 18 June 1957

The Wedding Dress
Audrey Templeton – Sulwen Morgan
Evelyn Lambert – Mary Law
Edna Lambert – Olwen Brookes
Mrs Vezey – Peggy Thorpe-Bates
Commercial Traveller/Ames – Trevor Martin
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 25 June 1957

The Gambler
Mrs Ludlow – Harriet Johns
Mr Ellis – Desmond Carrington
Felix Grey – Jimmy Lavall
Simmons – Arthur Young
Man – Simon Lack
Girl – Beryl Calder
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 2 July 1957

The Poisoned Air
Kurt Emmanuel – David Hurst
Bella Goodwyn – Maureen Riscoe
Mrs Atkins – Elsa Palmer
Hugo Russell – John Horsley
Sgt Hammond – Haydn Jones
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 9 July 1957

Mr X
Paula Maitland – Lana Morris
Nurse – Maureen Riscoe
Mr X – David Spenser
Mr Maitland – Simon Lack
Matron – Joan Sanderson
Inspector Hood – Fred Yule
First broadcast BBC Light Programme, 16 July 1957

A Case for Dr Morelle
Written and presented by Jeffrey Richards
Produced by Helen Williams
Contributors: Ernest Dudley, Brian Doyle
Reader: Owen Oakshott
First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 8 June 1999

Copyright © 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
(p) 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.