A Man Called Ove

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan’s The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion‘s The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

‘Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail

‘Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

Critics Review

  • Delightful … the perfect holiday read.

    Evening Standard
  • It’s the most enchanting, beautiful tale.

    Ben Fogle
  • A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish.

    Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods
  • An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places.

    Sunday Express
  • A charming debut.

    People

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.