A Sea of Gold

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. Thiswill be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin’s acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

1809. After his heroic actions during the retreat to Corunna, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is the toast of London society. Here he falls in with the legendary frigate captain, Lord Thomas Cochrane.

So begins a relationship, professional and personal, that will be unlike any that Kydd has known: a relationship that will lead him, almost simultaneously, to first glory, then ruin.

The French fleet is massing in the Basque Roads in a near impregnatable position. The Admiralty orders Cochrane to command an attack, to the chagrin of more senior officers who object to being overlooked and Cochrane’s reputation for daring. Cochrane insists that his new friend, Kydd, is in the forefront of the assault armada, a motley collection of rocket, bomb and fire ships that will set the anchorage ablaze – this despite Kydd’s almost pathological fear of fire.

The fallout from what follows will see Kydd financially ruined, with only his former shipmates, his oldest friend of all, Nicholas Renzi, and the whisper of hidden Spanish treasure promising the sea of gold that he needs to save himself.
‘Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line’ – Daily Express

‘In Stockwin’s hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world’ – Guardian

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critics Review

  • Tension surges through A Sea of Gold . . . In this rousing yarn, Stockwin again raises naval fiction to a new level

    Quarterdeck
  • Stockwin has surpassed himself with A Sea of Gold . . . a fine, fully favoured vintage yarn

    Warships

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.