A Thousand Ships

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ Deborah Frances-White

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

One of the Guardian’s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’


In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . .

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’Madeline Miller, author of Circe

Critics Review

  • With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War. Her thoughtful portraits will linger with you long after the book is finished

    Madeline Miller, author of Circe
  • Natalie Haynes is swiftly becoming this generation’s Mary Renault; her retelling of the Trojan war from an all-female perspective, A Thousand Ships, is her best yet.

    Observer
  • Haynes is master of her trade . . . She succeeds in breathing warm life into some of our oldest stories

    Telegraph
  • Absorbing and fiercely feminist

    Guardian
  • The forgotten women are vividly brought to life in this moving, intelligent and witty book

    Martha Kearney, BBC Radio 4
  • Elegant, intelligent . . . Haynes combines a wide-ranging knowledge of the original myths with a gift for compelling narrative

    The Times

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.