What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Alex is a rebel from the tip of her purple fauxhawk to the toes of her biker boots. She’s tried everything she can to get expelled from her strict Catholic boarding school. Now, Alex has a new plan.

Tired of the sexism she sees in every corner of St Mary’s, Alex decides to stage the school’s first ever production of The Vagina Monologues. Which is a challenge, as no one else at St Mary’s can even bear to say the word ‘vagina’ out loud . . .

Hilarious, bold, sparky and surprising, this is the funniest book you’ll read all year. A must-read for fans of Holly Smale, Derry Girls and Sex Education.

© Flynn Meaney 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Critics Review

  • Bad Habits is an absolute joy of a read, carefully balancing comedy (“I’m a feminist! I place bets on women’s basketball games.”) with a nuanced take on female friendships and being a teenage girl judged unfavourably by nuns, priests, peers and the world at large. Heart-warming and hilarious, this is a book you need on your shelves in these bleak times.

    Irish Times
  • This snarky feminist treat is properly laugh-out-loud funny

    The Bookseller
  • Funny, fierce and feminist, Bad Habits is full of big characters, big heart, and even bigger laughs. Flynn Meaney has somehow packed laughs into every line while still taking on everything from priests to the patriarchy. I loved it

    Beth Garrod

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.