Berlin

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Featuring an exclusive bonus interview between the author, Bea Setton, and her commissioning editor, Alice Youell.

A fresh, wry, piercingly contemporary debut about a young woman who moves to Berlin to escape her demons – and what she finds there. For fans of My Year of Rest and Relaxation and Exciting Times.

In the grip of existential malaise, 25-year-old Daphne moves to Berlin for a fresh start. Far from resolving her quarter-life crisis, things take a turn for the worse.

Because Daphne doesn’t just have to navigate all the archetypal experiences of an outsider in the big city – acquiring friends and lovers, grappling with the language and a whole new way of life.

A series of mysterious and troubling events are in motion – starting with a brick hurled through her bedroom window in the dead of night – and a further unravelling ensues. What is at the heart of these strange events and our troubled heroine? Who is Daphne, really, and what is she running from?

© Bea Setton 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

Critics Review

  • Scintillating . . . Berlin is wonderfully funny, and Daphne’s observations about modern life, men and the challenges facing young women always hit the nail

    FINANCIAL TIMES
  • Uncommonly funny, cinematically vivid, and refreshingly honest about how we deceive others and ourselves.

    Lisa Halliday, author of ASYMMETRY
  • Anyone who’s started over in a new city — let alone a new country — will relate . . . One for Sally Rooney fans

    Sunday Telegraph
  • [An] engagingly self-conscious debut . . . our attention is firmly held by the wry wit of Daphne’s voice, as well as regular hints that she’s something of an unreliable narrator . . . the book’s success lies chiefly in its line by-line charm

    DAILY MAIL
  • Setton builds her growing paranoia and sense of dread to terrific effect in this unsettling, compelling read.

    OBSERVER

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.