x-book ®

Breakneck Point

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Evidence never lies… But people do.

‘Gold-standard crime writing’ Erin Kinsley

‘Authentic and atmospheric . . . Will appeal to fans of Broadchurch’ Adele Parks, Platinum

A gripping new crime series for fans of Val McDermid, Jane Casey and Cara Hunter

CSI Ally Dymond’s commitment to justice has cost her a place on the major investigations team. After exposing corruption in the ranks, she’s stuck working petty crimes on the sleepy North Devon coast.

Then the body of nineteen-year-old Janie Warren turns up in the seaside town of Bidecombe, and Ally’s expert skills are suddenly back in demand.

But when the evidence she discovers contradicts the lead detective’s theory, nobody wants to listen to the CSI who landed their colleagues in prison.

Time is running out to catch a killer no one is looking for – no one except Ally. What she doesn’t know is that he’s watching, from her side of the crime scene tape, waiting for the moment to strike.

‘I genuinely found it hard to put down. The writing is beautifully paced and the double viewpoint creates great tension.’ Alex Gray

‘Fiendishly clever plotting. I was hooked from start to finish’ Sarah Stovell, author of Other Parents

What readers are saying about Breakneck Point

WOW!! A debut novel that had me hooked from the very start . . . Five stars out of five just isn’t high enough.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this book and would recommend for any crime addict’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A really terrific book with relatable characters and an ending that took me by surprise.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A really juicy, police procedural/thriller with a fantastic protagonist.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I read a lot of crime genre books, but this has really blown me away. . . Can’t wait for the next one’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Critics Review

  • ‘Fresh, vivid and totally engrossing: this is gold-standard crime writing bearing the unmistakable hallmark of authenticity’ Erin Kinsley, Sunday Times bestselling author of the Found

    ‘A page tuner that will appeal to fans of Broadchurch’ Adele Parks, Platinum

    ‘Fiendishly clever plotting. I was hooked from start to finish’ Sarah Stovell, author of Other Parents

    ‘A tightly-plotted, well-paced story with a disturbingly manipulative, evil villain at its core’ Country and Townhouse

    ‘I genuinely found it hard to put down. The writing is beautifully paced and the double viewpoint creates great tension’ Alex Gray, Sunday Times bestselling author of the DCI Lorimer Series

    ‘It’s difficult to accept that Breakneck Point is a debut novel as T. Orr Munro’s writing is exciting, genuine and convincing’ My Weekly

    ‘An intriguing plot with a compelling and unusual storyline’ Rachel Abbott, bestselling author of Close Your Eyes

    ‘Fascinating and very compelling. Ally is complex and engaging, and her character makes for a gusty, unpredictable and emotionally taut plot’ John Barlow, author of Right to Kill

    ‘Fast-paced, suspenseful, with characters I want to see again . . . Kept me guessing until the end’ Alison Weatherby, author of The Secrets Act

    ‘An absolutely thrilling ride . . . An excellent crime novel and brilliant debut’ Rosemary Hennigan, author of The Truth Will Out

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.