Charlotte

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Everybody believes that Charlotte Lucas has no prospects. She is unmarried, plain, poor and reaching a dangerous age. When she stuns the neighbourhood by accepting the proposal of buffoonish clergyman Mr Collins, her best friend Lizzy Bennet is appalled by her decision. Yet this is the only way Charlotte knows how to provide for her future. Her married life will propel her into a new world: not only of duty and longed-for children, but secrets, grief, unexpected love and friendship, and a kind of freedom.

Jane Austen cared deeply about the constraints on women in Regency England. This powerful reimagining takes up where Austen left off in Pride and Prejudice, showing us a woman determined to carve a place for herself in the world. Charlotte offers a fresh, feminist addition to the post-Austen canon, beautifully imagined, and brimming with passion and intelligence.

Critics Review

  • Astonishing

    Stylist
  • I loved this book. Fans of Pride and Prejudice will find this a worthy and engrossing companion, beautifully written. Feminist in nature, without ever lecturing the reader, it is an intimate and honest account of a woman’s struggles and strengths, painting a vivid picture of female life in the nineteenth century. I always felt Charlotte Lucas and Miss de Bourgh had hidden depths that Austen’s story did not have time to explore, so this is a satisfying and compelling addition to the Austen world

    Rebecca Mascull
  • A sparkling read, full of passion and flair. Will delight Jane Austen fans and lovers of good fiction

    Louisa Treger
  • An utterly compelling read and an exquisite rendering of human values. Written with a sensitive and perceptive hand, and with an affectionate homage to Austen’s own unique style; spangles of wry humour and wit adorn the narrative throughout. Charlotte’s distinctive voice chimes as brightly as a just-struck bell. Regarding Mr Collins; no doubt to the outside world he remains as Austen intended: part fool, part prig – these traits are neither denied nor negated – but with the deft skill of the author, we clearly begin to see Mr Collins not only through Charlotte’s eyes, but also through her heart; and at once his prolixity is understood, his tenderness revealed. Charlotte is a book which complements, rather than copies. There is certainly a link with Pride and Prejudice, but not a chain; and the story moves confidently and freely in its own direction. I believe fans of Jane Austen will adore it!

    Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh
  • An enjoyable and entertaining read which explores women’s constrained choices in early 19th-century England.

    Historical Novels Review

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.