Listen to a sample

What to expect

Julia Chapman’s fifth Dales Detectives Agency novel, Date With Danger, sees our intrepid leads Samson and Delilah on the trail of a sheep rustler turned killer. A heartwarming cosy crime caper, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton.

In the heart of Yorkshire, the Dales Detective Agency is about to face its biggest challenge.

A fatal accident at the local livestock auction mart summons the detective duo Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe, but what starts as a simple health-and-safety investigation soon takes a sinister turn when they discover evidence that suggests murder.

With local sheep being threatened by a gang of rustlers plaguing the Dales, and poacher Pete Ferris setting in motion a blackmail plot that will see Samson pulled back into trouble with his nemesis Rick Proctor, all three cases are about to converge.

Samson and Delilah are now going to find their next investigation is fraught with danger; a danger that will leave them fighting for their lives . . .

Full of wit, warmth and colourful characters, continue the comforting mystery series with Date with Deceit.

‘Chapman delivers on every level in this intriguing murder mystery.’ – Lancashire Evening Post

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.