Exciting Times

Listen to a sample

What to expect

The book of the summer … Kept me rapt until the final page THE TIMES

A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

More than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ lives IRISH TIMES

Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St Aubyn OBSERVER

A frankly sensational book Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW

In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron … I found myself purring with pleasure. …This is comic writing at the highest level’ Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money, it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she’s not sure what to call it, but it involves:

– a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;
– Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;
– Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;
– money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.

Critics Review

  • I had real fun with EXCITING TIMES. It is a very funny, spiky, Marxist, feminist comedy and it’s really mean.

    Zadie Smith
  • Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut

    Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL
  • Fiercely intelligent, brutally funny and written with such heart, EXCITING TIMES announces an impressive new voice in literature.

  • Witty, compelling and with a razor-sharp social commentary. I guzzled it.

    Pandora Sykes
  • A modern love story … astute, sardonic and highly emotionally aware … Heralding for sure a new star in Irish writing

    Irish Times
  • EXCITING TIMES more than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ lives.

    Irish Times

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.