x-book ®

Femlandia

Listen to a sample

What to expect

The gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of VOX and Q

‘A compelling, fast paced read.’ Guardian

‘The queen of dystopia’ Nina Pottell, Prima

‘Explosive’ Heat

‘Provocative, sinister, and fascinating’ Stephanie Wrobel, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Recovery of Rose Gold

‘Clever and chilling – and all too plausible’ Carole Johnstone, author of Mirrorland

* * * * * * * * * * *

Miranda Reynolds has lost her home, her job and her husband – all thanks to an economic collapse that has brought America to its knees.

The shops are empty; the streets no longer safe. Miranda and her daughter Emma have nowhere left to turn.

There is one final hope, a self-sufficient haven for women who want to live a life free from men. Femlandia.

For Miranda, the secluded Femlandia is a last resort. Life outside the gates is fraught with danger, but there’s something just as sinister going on within.

Welcome to Femlandia… It’s no place like home.

* * * * * * * * * * *

What readers are saying about FEMLANDIA

‘I felt immediately pulled in and intrigued…I cannot wait to see what is going to come next from this author’

‘It was completely gripping and I couldn’t put it down; absolutely thought provoking’

‘A chilling and layered read which I couldn’t put down. A true modern horror which exposes the dangers of a world without gender equity and ends with a horrifying sense of circularity.’

‘I couldn’t stop reading. There were many shocking twists throughout the book and I loved how it flicked between characters and timelines!’

‘Well-written, thought provoking and challenging’

Critics Review

  • ‘Dalcher is adept at writing genuinely scary high-concept fiction’ SFX

    ‘The queen of dystopia.’ Nina Pottell, PRIMA

    ‘[Dalcher] knows how to hit the emotional buttons…this is a compelling, fast paced read.’ GUARDIAN

    ‘ I read it with my breath held, unable to stop until I’d reached the explosive ending. You will definitely want to discuss this one with your book club.’ STEPHANIE WROBEL, author of THE RECOVERY OF ROSE GOLD

    ‘Equally as chilling and gripping as her debut, VOX’ RED

    ‘Clever and chilling – and all too plausible – Femlandia is a timely story about survival and the corruptive nature of power. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it!’ CAROLE JOHNSTONE, author of MIRRORLAND

    ‘Shocking, provocative, subversive, FEMLANDIA is a fantasy of female empowerment that curdles into a nightmare.’ KIA ABDULLAH, author of NEXT OF KIN

    ‘A real page-turner’ BELLA

    ‘Another superb novel from the author of VOX and Q’ BELFAST TELEGRAPH

    ‘Both gripping and terrifyingly disturbing in equal measures.’ LISA HALL, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WOODS

    ‘A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s THE HANDMAID’S TALE, Naomi
    Alderman’s THE POWER, and Kim Liggett’s THE GRACE YEAR.’ Library Journal

    ‘Engrossing. Dalcher’s novel is imaginative, urgent, and compulsively readable, not mention incredibly cool.’ AMANDA MONTELL, author of CULTISH

    ‘This wildly provocative glimpse into the future is sure to spark lively discussions…Dalcher remains a writer to watch’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

More from the same

Author

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.