Greyfriars House

  • Author Emma Fraser
  • Narrator Lesley Mackie
  • Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
  • Run Time 15 hours and 53 minutes
  • Format Audio
  • Genre Historical fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Secrets will be uncovered . . .

‘I was absolutely gripped . . . the atmospheric setting of Greyfriars intertwined with the grim reality of the war camps of Singapore was inspirational.’ Linda Finlay

‘A thought-provoking and atmospheric read.’ Evie Grace

An epic, sweeping drama about a family with secrets and a house shrouded in mystery, Greyfriars House is perfect for fans of Rachel Hore, Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Tracey Rees.

On a remote Scottish island sits
Greyfriars House

1939
Nine-year-old Olivia Friel is delighted to be spending the summer at Greyfriars House, a place where her parents, their family and friends are always happy. But this year there’s an underlying tension that Olivia doesn’t understand. Then one night she sees something she’s not meant to, and accidentally lets slip a devastating betrayal.

1984
Charlotte Friel gets a call from her ailing mother, asking something she’s never asked before: for Charlotte to come home. There are things Olivia needs to tell her daughter before it’s too late, secrets to be shared about forgotten relatives and a mysterious house.

Left reeling by recent events, Charlotte is unsure what path to follow. But eventually her curiosity, and a desire to escape her own life, lead her to Greyfriars House.

Will she find the answers she needs to make peace with the past?

Praise for Emma Fraser:

‘A gripping tale . . . romance, adventure and an intriguing underlying mystery’ – Lancaster Guardian
‘A heartbreaking novel of love and loss’ – Blackpool Gazette
‘A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read’ – Novelicious
‘An epic tale of one woman’s determination to follow her dreams’ – People’s Friend
‘First rate’ – Lovereading
‘Engaging and enjoyable’The Historical Novel Society

?

Critics Review

  • I was absolutely gripped . . . the atmospheric setting of Greyfriars intertwined with the grim reality of the war camps of Singapore was inspirational.

    author of The Flower Seller
  • A thought-provoking and atmospheric read. I loved the gradual unfolding of the family’s secrets and descriptions of the mysterious Greyfriars House.

    author or The Maids of Kent trilogy
  • An epic tale of one woman’s determination to follow her dreams

    People's Friend on The Shipbuilder's Daughter
  • A powerful tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read

    Novelicious on We Shall Remember
  • Touching and thought-provoking

    Lancaster Guardian on We Shall Remember

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.