Listen to a sample

What to expect

A moving and dramatic World War II land girl saga by the author of Lily’s War and Bobby’s War. For readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves.

It’s 1942 and at nineteen years old Hannah Compton has the world at her feet. But with World War II raging, the country is in turmoil, and Hannah decides to do her bit for the War effort. Hannah’s beloved grandfather taught her to grow vegetables in his market garden and inspires her to become one of over 200,000 women joining the Land Army.

Posted to Salhouse Farm on the outskirts of Norwich, Hannah is excited for the adventure ahead of her. But soon reality hits. Hannah is a city girl at heart and life in the countryside is not what she imagined. It’s cold, she hates the hard work, she misses her friends back in Manchester, and she has to share a double bed with a stranger.

As Hannah gets used to the punishing farm work and makes some friends, she starts to settle in. But she simply can’t get used to living side by side with the German prisoners of war. Then a young German doctor steps in to save Hannah’s life and everything she thought she knew is brought into question.

In a country at war, will Hannah be prepared to risk everything for the enemy?

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.