x-book ®

In a Kingdom by the Sea

Listen to a sample

What to expect

A sweeping, evocative story of love, secrets and betrayal, set against the stunning backdrops of Karachi and Cornwall.

Perfect for readers who love Santa Montefiore, Rosanna Ley and Dinah Jefferies.

When Gabby’s husband accepts a transfer to Pakistan, she discovers a new world of heat and colour, of exotic bazaars and trips to the breath-taking Kashmiri mountains. It is an escape she didn’t know she was looking for.

But then a shocking letter from her sister reveals a devastating secret. Gabby is transported back to her childhood home on the Cornish coast, and as memories unravel, so too does her new life in Karachi.

Will Gabby find the courage to face the dark secrets and embrace a different future?

Critics Review

  • Praise for Sara MacDonald:

    ‘A beautifully crafted novel of family ties and wartime secrets with delicate layers of emotion’ Inside Cornwall

    ‘Vividly drawn characters . . . Thoughtful and compelling storytelling’ Choice

    ‘Intriguing themes are cleverly woven together . . . I found myself swept along by the sheer interest of every page . . . it grips to the end’ Country Life

    ‘A great read, a moving story of family history, love, deception, passion and heartbreak’ Cornwall Today

    ‘A compelling story from a talented writer’ Belfast Telegraph

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.