Love, Unscripted

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Owen Nicholls’ Love, Unscripted follows film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the silver screen and love in real life. Perfect for fans of romcoms, David Nicholls and Nick Hornby.

‘Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic – Love, Unscripted is one of those books. Nostalgic, tender and achingly cool’ Josie Silver, author of One Day in December

IT ISN’T ALWAYS LIKE THE MOVIES . . .

For the last four years, Nick’s life has been picture-perfect.

He’s been working his dream job as a film projectionist and he’s been dating Ellie, the love of his life and the coolest woman he’s ever met. It took a while, but this hopeless romantic finally found a love story to rival the big screen.

Until, one day, Ellie moves out.

Stunned by the end of their cinematic romance, Nick rewinds to the first night they met. Maybe if he can freeze-frame their happiest moments, he can work out why Ellie had to leave him behind.

Before the credits roll, will Nick become the hero of his own romantic comedy, or is it finally time for him to step out of the frame?

**Owen Nicholls’ new novel PERFECT TIMING is available to pre-order now!**

PRAISE FOR LOVE, UNSCRIPTED

‘An unmissable, multi-layered read’
WOMAN & HOME

‘Bursting with some very cute cultural references’
SUNDAY MIRROR

‘A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance’
WOMAN’S WEEKLY

‘A complete delight for film lovers (and lovers of love)’
HOLLY BOURNE

‘The book equivalent of a classic rom-com’
CULTUREFLY

‘A nostalgic read for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls’
HEAT MAGAZINE

‘A gorgeous rom-com’
KATE DAVIES, AUTHOR OF IN AT THE DEEP END

‘An astutely observed romantic comedy . . . Pure pleasure’
EMPIRE MAGAZINE

‘If When Harry Met Sally and High Fidelity had a book baby, this would be it’
EMMA COOPER, AUTHOR OF THE SONGS OF US

‘Charming read’
WOMAN’S WAY

‘This will tug at your heartstrings’
BEST MAGAZINE

‘The perfect read for film enthusiasts’
WOMAN MAGAZINE

Critics Review

  • A complete delight for film lovers (and lovers of love)

    Holly Bourne
  • High Fidelity with celluloid replacing vinyl – an astutely observed romantic comedy that had me shaking with laughter and sniffing away tears. Pure pleasure.

    Nev Pierce, Contributing Editor EMPIRE Magazine
  • Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magicLove, Unscripted is one of those books. Nostalgic, tender and achingly cool, it has the same understated beauty as a John Cusack movie. A love letter to the silver screen and to all of the iconic romantic comedies – it’s book treasure, my new favourite.

    Josie Silver, author of One Day in December
  • A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance . . . an unmissable read

    Woman's Weekly
  • Smartly observed romcom . . . bursting with some very cute cultural references

    Sunday Mirror
  • A fun, entertaining story with bags of heart – the book equivalent of a classic rom-com

    CultureFly

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.