Maggsie McNaughton’s Second Chance

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘Smart and funny’ Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

The first step was learning to read, but if she really wants to turn her life around, Maggsie is going to have to trust other people and that might just be the hardest lesson she’s ever faced . . .

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn’t need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She’s more than capable of looking after herself.

She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes.
Even her.

The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy…

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she’s offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what.

At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change.
Especially her.

But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different – if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people.

Maggsie McNaughton’s Second Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, Three Things about Elsie and Elizabeth is Missing.

Critics Review

  • Smart and funny

    Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things and Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel
  • Guaranteed to melt the hardest of hearts

    Red Magazine
  • A joy from start to finish: quirky, real and moving, with unforgettable characters you’ll root for from the very beginning

    Katy Regan, author of Little Big Love
  • Finished Maggsie McNaughton’s Second Chance and I feel bereft. A wonderful, uplifting read

    Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl
  • Big-hearted and charming

    James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me, on The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr
  • Wonderful

    Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call, on The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.