Miracle Creek

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘That wonderful, brilliant sort of book you want to shove at people as soon as you’ve finished so they can experience it for themselves’ Erin Morgenstern

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we’ll go to protect our families – and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine – a pressurised oxygen chamber that patients enter for “dives”, used as an alternative therapy for conditions including autism and infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night?trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges?as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

(P) 2019 Macmillan Audio

Critics Review

  • I picked up MIRACLE CREEK and literally couldn’t put it down. It’s that wonderful, brilliant sort of book you want to shove at other people as soon as you’ve finished so they can experience it for themselves.

    Erin Morgenstern
  • Combining the tense atmosphere of a courtroom drama with a moving study of the sacrifices that parents are prepared to make for their children, Angie Kim’s debut is pacey and thought-provoking.

    Sunday Express, S Magazine
  • Miracle Creek is a tense, addictive and brilliantly written story of small-town secrets

    Stylist
  • With twists and turns at every chapter, this will leave you gripped – especially with its didn’t-see-that-coming ending

    Heat
  • Engrossing . . . Miracle Creek turns a courtroom murder trial into a page-turning exploration of parenting, experimental therapies, and the emotional toil of immigration

    Elle
  • A powerful and intriguing courtroom drama, which will resonate with readers who enjoyed Little Fires Everywhere

    Irish Times

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.