One of the Family

  • Author Sadie Pearse
  • Narrator Mary Woodvine
  • Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
  • Run Time 9 hours and 50 minutes
  • Format Audio
  • Genre Family life fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

A gripping and unputdownable read that will make you question just how far you would go to protect your family. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Clare Mackintosh . . .

‘An emotional read’ BELLA MAGAZINE, MUST READS
‘A thrilling twist’ PEOPLE’S FRIEND
‘A moving story and an excellent read’ WOMAN’S WAY

A MOTHER’S LOVE. A DEVASTATING SECRET.

Samantha Jackson has been missing for eighteen years. Then, out of nowhere, she gets back in touch with her sister.

Sam needs Freya – now a grown woman with a family of her own – to take in her son.

But Dino is not a happy child, despite the warmth of Freya’s family he cannot settle. He startles at loud noises and he’s prone to angry, violent outbursts. He’s one of the family, Freya knows he is, but why doesn’t it feel like that?

In order to keep her daughters safe, Freya is forced to go in search of the truth. What is going on with Dino, and what really happened to her sister the night she left?

Real readers love ONE OF THE FAMILY:

A very emotional read that would be a sure fire hit for book clubs . . .the book stays with you long after you read it

An uputdownable book . . . definitely one to suggest in my book club’

‘A thought-provoking read with many high and low moments along the way . . . a great read

‘It plays with your emotions, lingers in your mind, an exhilarating and thought-provoking read

A beautiful story talking about real life issues. A truly sensitive and gripping novel . . . Sadie Pearse does this with such great storytelling

Very well written and the characters were believable. Highly recommended

PRAISE FOR SADIE PEARSE:

‘Excellent read, perfect for book clubs . . . An important and moving story’ CLARE MACKINTOSH

‘Both thought-provoking and emotional’ THE SUN

An incredibly accomplished novel’ CATHY BRAMLEY

Critics Review

  • Praise for THIS CHILD OF OURS

  • Excellent read, perfect for book clubs… An important and moving story.

    CLARE MACKINTOSH
  • This book broke my heart and gently pieced it back together. It is original, sensitive and intensely moving and I was constantly questioning myself: what would I do. An incredibly accomplished novel

    CATHY BRAMLEY
  • A truly sensitive and involving novel about gender, identity and family that has important things to say, but does so with warmth and great storytelling. It feels like a book that all modern parents should read

    KEITH STUART
  • Both thought provoking and emotional, it will have you in cheers as well as tears

    THE SUN
  • An important story that will prompt discussion

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.