Listen to a sample

What to expect

Bestselling and prize-winning author Mo Hayder has penned another spine-tingling and stomach-churning thriller that is guaranteed to keep you turning the pages. Creepy, enthralling, twisty and very moving, Poppet is perfect for fans of Stephen King, Stuart MacBride and Karin Slaughter.

‘Hayder has a profound ability to shock and surprise her readers’ — Karin Slaughter

‘With Mo Hayder you never know where you are going until you get there’ — The Times
‘Oozes sinisterness from the first page’ — Entertainment weekly
‘Full of twists, turns and lots of tension . . . deliciously dark and creepy.’ — ***** Reader review
‘Completely compulsive reading . . . gritty and often shocking.’ — ***** Reader review
‘Poppet had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up from the very beginning.’ — ***** Reader review
‘Full of twist and turns with a totally unexpected twist at the end!’ — ***** Reader review
*************************************************************************
THE MAUDE IS OUTSIDE.

IT WANTS TO COME IN.

IT WANTS TO SIT ON YOUR CHEST.

The patients at Beechway High Secure Unit are terrified. Unexplained power cuts have lead to a series of horrifying incidents. And now fear has spread from the inmates to the staff.

DI Jack Caffery is called to investigate, whilst working the most impossible case of his life.

Will he be able to stare pure evil in the eye, and survive?

Critics Review

  • Hayder has a profound ability to shock and surprise her readers

    KARIN SLAUGHTER
  • With Mo Hayder you never know where you are going until you get there

    The Times
  • Extraordinarily good. Creepy, enthralling, twisty and very moving. Wow.

    STEVE MOSBY
  • Oozes sinisterness from the first page

    Entertainment weekly
  • Enthralling…Hayder’s sharply drawn characters, major and minor, and her psychological acumen combine for a frightening and convincing read.

    Publisher's Weekly

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.