Revelation

Listen to a sample

What to expect

<h2> Perfect for fans of HIlary Mantel and Philippa Gregory, C. J. Sansom’s bestselling adventures of Matthew Shardlake continue in the fourth book, the haunting Revelation.</h2>

‘When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival’ – Sunday Times
‘Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time’ – Andrew Taylor, Spectator

England, 1543: King Henry VIII is wooing Lady Catherine Parr, whom he wants for his sixth wife. But this time the object of his affections is resisting. Archbishop Cranmer and the embattled Protestant faction at court are watching keenly, for Lady Catherine is known to have reformist sympathies.

Matthew Shardlake, meanwhile, is working on the case of a teenage boy, a religious maniac locked in the Bedlam hospital for the insane. Should he be released to his parents, when his terrifying actions could lead to him being burned as a heretic?

When an old friend is horrifically murdered Shardlake promises his widow, for whom he has long had complicated feelings, to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him to both Cranmer and Catherine Parr –and with the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

As London’s Bishop Bonner prepares a purge of Protestants, Shardlake, together with his assistant, Jack Barak, and his friend, Guy Malton, follows the trail of a series of horrific murders that shake them to the core, and which are already bringing frenzied talk of witchcraft and a demonic possession – for what else would the Tudor mind make of a serial killer . . .?

The atmosphere and tension of the Tudor world is brought to life in this gripping bestselling historical series, which continues with Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

Critics Review

  • Sansom’s meticulous attention to historical detail and vivid characters make this Tudor mystery as gripping and vital as any modern thriller.

    The Times
  • A serial killer is using the Book of Revelation for his murders in this outstanding whodunit featuring the bestselling Tudor lawyer Matthew Shardlake.

    Sunday Times Culture - Your 100 Best Holiday Reads
  • Sansom’s evocation of 16th century London amidst the turmoil of the Reformation is compelling.

    Observer
  • Sansom’s deeply resonant novel depicts Tudor London as a benighted city overrun by fundamentalist fanatics, heretic-burners and the madness of crowds, while his narrative’s tingling intrigues will have you hooked from first page to last.

    Sunday Times
  • Only the wonderfully rich detail with which the author brings to life characters and settings lets us know that we are not in modern times, but in 1543 – and even this evocation of a filthy overcrowded London thronged with beggars and prostitutes seems uncomfortably close to present day reality . . . Mingling lightly worn erudition with pacy plotting, this is an utterly compelling read.

    The Times
  • Historical mysteries are all the rage, but Sansom’s are in a class of their own. His sheer narrative skill is matchless.

    Mail on Sunday

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.