x-book ®

Right to Kill

Listen to a sample

What to expect

The first in a gripping new crime thriller series set in Yorkshire, for fans of Ian Rankin and Joseph Knox.

‘A striking debut’ Peter Robinson

Wortley, West Leeds.

On a Thursday night in February, DS Joe Romano finds himself back on home turf. He’s following up on the disappearance of drug dealer Craig Shaw.

It’s the start of a case that could make or break Romano’s career. Because Shaw is about to go from missing to murdered.

While some don’t think Shaw’s killer should be brought to justice, Romano believes every life counts. But he’s running out of time.

The killer is ready to strike again. And Romano will be forced to question whether anyone has the right to kill.

‘A gritty, uncompromising thriller’ Paul Finch

‘The twisted big brother to Happy Valley’ Michael Wood

‘A modern take on the classic police procedural’ Russ Thomas

‘Breakneck pace, terrific protagonist and a kick-ass sidekick’
Neil Lancaster

Critics Review

  • ‘A striking debut. John Barlow’s Right to Kill offers an intriguing plot and a gritty sense of place. I hope we’ll be seeing a lot more of DS Joe Romano in the future’ Peter Robinson, Sunday Times bestselling author of the DCI Banks series

    ‘Yorkshire Noir at its most authentic. A gritty, uncompromising thriller, but written from the heart.’ Paul Finch, Sunday Times bestselling author of author of the DS Mark Heckenburg series

    ‘Joe Romano is a modern take on the classic police procedural detective… Welcome to the mean streets of Leeds… the best and worst that Yorkshire has to offer’ Russ Thomas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Firewatching

    ‘The twisted big brother to Happy Valley’ Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series

    ‘Breakneck pace, terrific protagonist and a kick-ass sidekick . . . The sense of place just leaps off the page’ Neil Lancaster, author of the Tom Novak series

    ‘A strong start to a new series . . . Joe Romano is a compelling lead’ Dominic Nolan, author of Past Life

    ‘An excellent, pacy story that’s full of heart . . . DS Joe Romano is a new favourite’ Chris McDonald, author of the DI Erika Piper series

    ‘Yorkshire’s got a new hero in DS Romano. Fast-paced and full of heart, Right to Kill is the start of a thrilling new crime series.’ Nick Quantrill, author of the Joe Geraghty series

    ‘An outstandingly good first instalment: the next one can’t come soon enough.’ The Quietus

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.