What to expect

Six teens, one dog, a ski trip gone wrong

Sam is dreading senior ski weekend and having to watch after her brother and his best friend, Gavin, to make sure they don’t do anything stupid. Again. Gavin may be gorgeous, but he and Sam have never gotten along. Now they’re crammed into an SUV with three other classmates and Gavin’s dog, heading on a road trip that can’t go by fast enough.

Then their SUV crashes into a snowbank, and Sam and her friends find themselves stranded in the mountains with cell phone coverage long gone and temperatures dropping. When the group gets sick of waiting for rescue, they venture outside to find help—only to have a wilderness accident leave Sam’s brother with a smashed leg and, soon, a raging fever. While the hours turn to days, Sam’s brother gets sicker and sicker, and their food and supplies dwindle until there isn’t enough for everyone. As the winter elements begin to claim members of the group one by one, Sam vows to keep her brother alive.

No matter what.

Filled with twists, secrets, and life-changing moments, Ski Weekend is a snow-packed survival thriller featuring a diverse cast of teens that will appeal to fans of One of Us Is Lying and I Am Still Alive.

Critics Review

  • “A nail-biter with some surprising moments. Recommended for high school and YA collections.”

    School Library Journal
  • “Ross offers YA readers genuinely diverse characters, each of whom continues to grow throughout the narrative…Brace for impact readers, this YA thriller holds little back.”

    Kirkus Reviews
  • “This book will send so many chills up your spine, you’ll feel like you’re alongside the snowbound characters.”

    Jeff Zentner, author of Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee
  • “Full of twists and thrills, Ski Weekend will hook you from the very start and keep your heart pounding long after you finish.”

    Evelyn Skye, author of Cloak of Night
  • “A pacey thriller with moments of great tenderness―and spine chilling horror.”

    Lauren Kate, author of The Orphan's Song
  • “I was sucked in by the extremely well-developed characters and their stories. Chills, thrills, and secrets aplenty.”

    Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of The Girls Are All So Nice Here

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.