x-book ®

Survivor’s Guilt

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘Tense, twisty, emotional and gripping. Will definitely be reading more from Matilda Darke and this gets a huge 5 stars from me!’ Angela Marsons

‘Matilda Darke is an excellent character’ BA Paris

A TEAM TORN APART
 
Nine months ago DCI Matilda Darke survived a bullet to the head. The brutal attack claimed dozens of lives, including those she loved most, and the nightmares still plague her every waking thought.
 
A MEMORY SHE’D RATHER FORGET
 
Now, she’s ready to get back on the job. But a new terror awaits. A woman is found murdered and her wounds look eerily similar to several cold cases. Desperate to find a lead, DCI Darke and her team must face a terrifying truth: a serial killer is on the loose in Sheffield.
 
A THREAT CLOSE TO HOME
 
 Matilda has led countless murder investigations before but the lingering emotional scars from her ordeal and the uneasiness within her once-tight team have left tensions high. As the body count rises, Matilda realises that this might just be where it all ends.
 
The brand new instalment in the DCI Matilda Darke series will leave you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Kathy Reichs and Peter James.

‘Had me in tears at one point. Brilliant, non-stop stuff. Feel like I’ve been through some sort of psychological bombardment. Exhausted. Terrific’ John Barlow, author of Right to Kill

Critics Review

  • Praise for Michael Wood:

    ‘A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending’ Katerina Diamond

    “An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists – you won’t see them coming!” Stephen Booth

    ‘A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman’s knot. I loved it’ Matt Hilton

    ‘Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens’ Rachel Sargeant

    ‘Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman’s Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn’ Chris Whitaker

    ‘Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman’s Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish’ Chris Simms

    ‘Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman’s noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman’s Hold is going to be big…’ Neil Broadfoot

    Praise for Michael Wood:

    ‘You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke’ Yrsa Sigurdardottir

    ‘She is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

    ‘A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace’ Paul Finch

    ‘Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ Mark Edwards

    ‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

    ‘A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She’s strong character with real depth’ Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

    ‘A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations’ Sarah Ward

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.