The Air Raid Girls at Christmas

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

A wonderful new Christmas story of friendship, love and duty in wartime by the author of The Air Raid Girls, for fans of Elaine Everest and Rosie Hendry.

November, 1941.

Christmas is coming… and despite the blackout, shortages and a constant threat of air raids, the inhabitants of Kelthorpe on the Yorkshire coast are determined that war won’t stop them celebrating.

The run-up to Christmas sees sisters Connie and Lizzie, and their good friend Pamela, busier than ever. Between their jobs, carol-singing rehearsals with the church choir and night shifts doing their bit as Air Raid Wardens and ambulance drivers, it’s all go.

But when Connie and Lizzie’s dear dad falls ill, their sweethearts Tom and Bill are called up by the Royal Navy for dangerous mine-sweeping duties, and Pamela’s sweetheart Fred is targeted by vicious locals, the girls have to believe in miracles to keep soldiering on.

Can their dearest wishes come true this Christmas?

© Jenny Holmes 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Critics Review

  • Praise for Jenny Holmes

    :
  • Vibrant and heart-warming, Jenny Holmes makes Chapel Street come alive.

    Sunday Express on The Shop Girls of Chapel Street
  • Gritty and uplifting, it’s a tale of triumph over adversity

    Choice on The Mill Girls of Albion Lane

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.