x-book ®

The Chateau

Listen to a sample

What to expect

THE TOP TWENTY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

‘A brilliant new story-teller has arrived’ ERIN KELLY
‘A read-in-one-sitting thriller’ LUCY CLARKE
‘Chilling, devious’ JANICE HALLETT
‘Glorious escapism with a murderous twist’ TAMMY COHEN

They thought it was perfect. They were wrong…

A glamorous chateau

Aura and Nick don’t talk about what happened in England. They’ve bought a chateau in France to make a fresh start, and their kids need them to stay together – whatever it costs.

A couple on the brink

The expat community is welcoming, but when a neighbour is murdered at a lavish party, Aura and Nick don’t know who to trust.

A secret that is bound to come out…

Someone knows exactly why they really came to the chateau. And someone is going to give them what they deserve.

The Sunday Times bestseller is back with a rollercoaster read, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

‘A read-in-one-sitting thriller’ LUCY CLARKE, author of THE CASTAWAYS

‘Chilling, devious’ JANICE HALLETT, author of THE APPEAL

‘The definition of unputdownable’ SINEAD CROWLEY

‘Hot on the heels of her debut thriller, Cooper has crafted yet another gripping page-turner that kept me second guessing myself until the very end’ Karin Nordin

Praise for Catherine Cooper:

‘Pure adrenaline’ Erin Kelly
‘Agatha Christie with glamour’ Sunday Times Style
‘Intense and claustrophobic’ Heat

The Chalet was a Sunday Times No.5 bestseller for w/e 28/11/20

Critics Review

  • PRAISE FOR THE CHATEAU:

    ‘The author of hit The Chalet is back with an even better psychological thriller that will have you reading into the early hours’ THE SUN

    ‘Murder, family secrets and revenge all culminate in a shocking finale to this fast-paced murder mystery’ MY WEEKLY

    ‘Escapism with a twist’ WOMAN & HOME

    ‘A chilling read’ BELLA

    ‘Chillingly brilliant’ CLOSER

    ‘Addictive’ CRIME MONTHLY

    ‘Cooper has done it again – with captivating characters and a roller-coaster ride of a storyline, you’ll be gripped right up to the last line’ HEAT

    ‘Excellent reading’ BELFAST TELEGRAPH

    ‘Chilling, devious’ JANICE HALLETT, author of THE APPEAL

    ‘‘Darkly glamorous and fuelled by adrenalin, The Chateau is a read-in-one-sitting thriller. I devoured it!’ LUCY CLARKE

    ‘A page turner with an ending I wasn’t expecting!’ DEBBIE HOWELLS

    ‘The definition of unputdownable. A Christie tribute in the best way’ SINEAD CROWLEY

    ‘Insanely gripping, it’s glorious escapism with a murderous twist’ TAMMY COHEN

    ‘Gripping, glamorous, ingeniously twisty’ LAURA MARSHALL

    PRAISE FOR CATHERINE COOPER:

    ‘Agatha Christie meets the glamour of apres-ski’ SUNDAY TIMES STYLE

    ‘‘An intense, claustrophobic thriller’ HEAT

    ‘A brilliant book with a twist you won’t see coming’ BELLA

    ‘A great, pacy read fans of Lucy Foley will love’ FABULOUS

    ‘Atmospheric and suspenseful’ WOMAN’S WEEKLY

    ‘A striking debut – the ultimate winter read!’ FRANCE MAGAZINE

    ‘Adrenaline-charged – makes for superb, wintry reading’ WI LIFE

    ‘Pure adrenaline, from the killer first page to the chilling last line’ ERIN KELLY

    ‘I loved the vivid setting’ CASS GREEN

    ‘A chilling and atmospheric thriller full of addictive twists’ ROZ WATKINS

    ‘A cleverly plotted thriller set in the French Alps. The snow made me feel like I was there’ ALLIE REYNOLDS

    ‘A striking debut… the ultimate winter read’ France magazine

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.