The Drowning

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Swedish crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller – for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo

Christian Thydell’s dream has come true: his debut novel, The Mermaid, is published to rave reviews. So why is he as distant and unhappy as ever?

When crime writer Erica Falck discovers that Christian has been receiving anonymous threats, she investigates not just the messages but also the author’s mysterious past…

Meanwhile, one of Christian’s closest friends is missing. Erica’s husband, Detective Patrik Hedström, has his worst suspicions confirmed as the mind-games aimed at Christian and those around him become a disturbing reality.

But, with the victims themselves concealing evidence, the investigation is going nowhere. Is their silence driven by fear or guilt? And what is the secret they would rather die to protect than live to see revealed?

Critics Review

  • Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

    ‘Mesmerising … It’s Lackberg’s particular skill to have created two of the most fully rounded characters in contemporary crime fiction, with a warmth that cuts right through the Nordic chill’ Independent

    ‘Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror… a must for white-knuckle junkies’ Guardian

    ‘Läckberg is particularly good at portraying the claustrophobia of a small community in which everyone knows everyone else and the police may well be friends with killers’ The Times

    ‘Camilla Lackberg is probably the hottest female writer in Sweden at the moment… Lackberg’s job is to make the reader pleasurably uncomfortable – one of her ironclad skills’ Barry Forshaw, Independent

    ‘Chilly, deceptive and lucid, just like the icy environment it describes’ Literary Review

    ‘Both chilling and thrilling’ Sun

    ‘Heart-stopping and heart-warming, The Ice Princess is a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing’ Val McDermid

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.