x-book ®

The Forgotten Village

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘I would give this book ten stars if I could. I read it within two days and just could not put it down… A real page turner… Heart-wrenching and just fabulous. I can usually guess the ending of most books, but not this one’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

1943: The world is at war, and the villagers of Tyneham are being asked to make one more sacrifice: to give their homes over to the British army. But on the eve of their departure, a terrible act will cause three of them to disappear forever.

2018: Melissa had hoped a break on the coast of Dorset would rekindle her stagnant relationship, but despite the idyllic scenery, it’s pushing her and Liam to the brink. When Melissa discovers a strange photograph of a woman who once lived in the forgotten local village of Tyneham, she becomes determined to find out more about her story. But Tyneham hides a terrible secret, and Melissa’s search for the truth will change her life in ways she never imagined possible.

Winner of the Romantic Novelists’ Association Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award, as well as the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers

What others are saying about THE FORGOTTEN VILLAGE:

‘I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day‘ Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph

‘A highly captivating, dramatic and emotional read, I literally could not turn the pages fast enough’ Mixing Reality with Fiction

‘Utterly brilliant… a fabulous work of intrigue that keeps you captivated ‘til the very last page. Worth more stars than I can give’ Reader review

‘Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told… Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton’ Nikola Scott, author of My Mother’s Shadow

An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more’ Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

‘A gripping tale of secrets and love… I loved it’ Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House

Don’t miss Lorna Cook’s next book, The Forbidden Promise, available to pre-order now…

Critics Review

  • ‘I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day‘ Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph

    ‘A highly captivating, dramatic and emotional read, I literally could not turn the pages fast enough’ Mixing Reality with Fiction

    ‘Utterly brilliant… a fabulous work of intrigue that keeps you captivated ‘til the very last page. Worth more stars than I can give’ Reader review

    ‘Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told… Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton’ Nikola Scott, author of My Mother’s Shadow

    An unforgettable and emotional read, The Forgotten Village had me gripped from the beginning… a beautifully written highly captivating dual timeline story that is so easy to be swept up in’ Stina the Bookaholic

    A fantastic book… the characters are engaging and heartwarming and honest, the scenery was beautiful and the story heart-wrenching and wonderful all at the same time’ Reader review

    ‘This is a perfect debut from a talented new author’ Reader review

    An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more’ Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

    ‘A gripping tale of secrets and love… I loved it’ Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House

    ‘I was utterly sucked in and swept away by the story, the vivid scenery, the characters, the secrets… I can’t wait to read whatever Lorna writes next!’ Jenny Ashcroft, author of Island in the East

    ‘An extremely well-written story, plotted perfectly to keep the reader guessing . . . I loved it’ Nudge Books

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.