The Gaudy Image

Listen to a sample

What to expect

How do you find the perfect man? Like most people Titania aka Thomas Schwartz is desperately trying to find out!

Set in New Orleans and featuring a colourful cast of louche but loveable characters, the story follows Titania through the backstreets, bars and club of the French Quarter in search of the perfect lover – the Gaudy Image.

Originally published in Europe in the 50s to avoid prosecution for obscenity, The Gaudy Image is one of the most important ‘lost’ gay novels.

A beautifully written story that is both elegant and caustically humorous, erotic and sympathetic.

For fans of Dorothy Baker, Bryan Washington and Zak Salih.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.