The Good Guy

  • Author Susan Beale
  • Narrator Caitlin Shannon, Craig Van Ness
  • Publisher John Murray Press
  • Run Time 10 hours and 8 minutes
  • Format Audio
  • Genre Modern and contemporary fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016

A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.

Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.

The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

(P)2017 John Murray Press

Critics Review

  • A joy

    Samantha Harvey, author of The Wilderness
  • Inspired by the author’s own experience, The Good Guy is a story of marriage, self-deception and the pressure to conform in Sixties suburban New England

    i
  • A delicious, slightly gossipy summer read with a Mad Men feel to it. I’d especially recommend this to readers who enjoyed The Longest Night by Andria Williams and Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann

    Bookbag
  • There’s definitely a Mad Men vibe to The Good Guy

    Red, Best Books to Read this June
  • Fresh and lively

    Daily Mail
  • Beale has crafted an engaging and harrowing portrait of womanhood and domestic life, astutely exploring the many ways in which distance and proximity can co-exist

    Times Literary Supplement

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.