x-book ®

The Lake

Listen to a sample

What to expect

The truth lies just beneath the surface…

*With exclusive audio content.*

Kate’s world falls apart when her teenage son drowns in the waters by his school. She’s convinced it wasn’t just a tragic accident, but no one will listen.

Then, six years later, Kate unearths Michael’s lost diary and realises she may finally be able uncover what really happened that night.

But as she delves deeper, she begins to realise that she didn’t really know her son – or the people in his life – at all. And that, sometimes, secrets are better left submerged…

An absorbing, emotionally-charged and addictive page-turner that will keep you gripped into the dark hours, perfect for fans of Linda Green and Teresa Driscoll.

Readers love The Lake:

Atmospheric, unsettling, and gripping, Louise is clearly a fresh new talent to the genre’ Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter

‘One of the best debut novels I have read – compelling, claustrophobic and captivating’ Katerina Diamond, author of The Heatwave

‘An intelligent and thought-provoking story that combines psychological thrills with the heartfelt emotions of a grieving mother, with a great cast of characters, this book is highly recommended’ Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

Critics Review

  • ‘Atmospheric, unsettling, and gripping, Louise is clearly a fresh new talent to the genre’ Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter

    ‘One of the best debut novels I have read – compelling, claustrophobic and captivating’ Katerina Diamond, author of The Heatwave

    ‘An intelligent and thought-provoking story that combines psychological thrills with the heartfelt emotions of a grieving mother, with a great cast of characters, this book is highly recommended’ Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

    ‘This was a great book to read, it had all the twists and turns in it which kept me guessing right until the end.’ Reviewer

    ‘A compelling emotional journey of a mother determined to get the truth. Absolutely amazing read, highly recommended.’ Reviewer

    ‘I stayed up all night to read this. I will need a lot of coffee soon. Help me.’ Reviewer

    ‘I am already eager from a new book from this author. She has been added to my auto buy list.’ Reviewer

    ‘The ultimate denouement is a breath-taking climax to an original and compelling read.’ Reviewer

    ‘The Lake easily made it onto my Loved list for 2021.’ Reviewer

    ‘Believable characters and author shows great insight into the tragic death of the young boy in the book.’ Reviewer

    ‘This was such a tense suspenseful book! It had me hooked from get go. The characters were raw… Felt what Kate was feeling and I just love that in a book!’ Reviewer

    ‘The plot develops beautifully, unfolding piece by piece and you really feel you’re on the voyage of discovering, taking the highs and lows with her. Stunning and a book that will stay with me for a long time.’ Reviewer

    ‘I will be looking out for more of Louise’s books as this one was a brilliant psychological thriller.’ Reviewer

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.