The Little Breton Bistro

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Marianne Messman longs to escape her loveless marriage to an uncaring husband – an artillery sergeant major named Lothar. On a day trip to Paris, Marianne decides to leap off the Pont Neuf into the Seine, but she is saved from drowning by a homeless man. While recovering in hospital, Marianne comes across a painting of the tiny port town of Kerdruc in Brittany and decides to try her luck on the coast.

In Kerdruc, Marianne meets a host of colourful characters who all gravitate around the restaurant of Ar Mor (The Sea). It is this cast of true Bretons who become Marianne’s new family, and among whom she will find love once again. But with her husband looking to pull her back to her old life, Marianne is left with a choice: to step back into the known, or to take a huge jump into an exciting and unpredictable future.

(c) Simon Pare 2017

Critics Review

  • From the author of The Little Paris Bookshop comes a new life-affirming novel . . . the message of this gentle but pacey page-turner is that new loves, new friends and confidence can be found at any stage

    Sunday Express
  • [Nina] George’s engrossing novel is as much about indulging the senses with succulent dishes and dazzling sights as it is about romance and second chances. With a profound sense of place and sensuous prose, the novel functions as a satisfying virtual visit to the French Riviera. A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love

    Kirkus Reviews
  • A sweet lifesaver bound to be in huge demand

    Library Journal
  • This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop – or as he calls it, ‘a literary apothecary’, because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure – of heartache – is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie

    Red on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
  • As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance

    Mail on Sunday on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
  • Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has ‘”seen it all” (and read it all) and she swooned

    Daily Mail on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.