The Little Village of New Starts

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘I have devoured this in one sitting, Ashcroft has pulled me into the pages and made me desperate to see what was going to play out. I am a sucker for a love story and was rooting for the characters… Definitely a five star read which I highly recommend.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87

Evie Stuart is playing it safe. She lives on her family’s remote farm in the Scottish Highlands and never ventures beyond the local village of Lockton. The most unpredictable events in her life are the antics of Miss Daisy, her grandmother Agnes’s pygmy goat. She’s learned that bad things happen when she’s impulsive, and she’s determined not to get burned again.

Callum Ryder is exactly the opposite of what Evie wants in her ordered world. Six foot two of reckless energy with twinkling eyes and a dangerously charming smile, he’s a thrill-seeking American firefighter with no idea how to slow down. Callum enters Lockton like a whirlwind, fleeing his problems in New York City in search of the truth about his Scottish family.

Yet the pair might have more in common than they think… When the well-meaning Agnes persuades her to help Callum find his grandfather, Evie finds herself being challenged more than she has in years: from swimming in the fabled Bonnie Lochan to exploring an ancient castle and even entering the village jam-making championships. Turns out it’s easy for Evie and Callum to connect when they let go of their fears and enjoy the most surprising summer of their lives.

But getting close to Callum so quickly soon starts to look like it might ruin everything for Evie: she’s heading for a disaster exactly like the one that destroyed her a year ago when she fell for the wrong man and let him change her life. Maybe a fresh start isn’t going to be so simple after all… Is the safe haven Evie’s built about to crumble down around her?

A totally charming and moving story about being true to yourself, the power of new beginnings, and one magical summer that changes everything. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Carolyn Brown and Phillipa Ashley.

Readers love The Little Village of New Starts:

‘Filled with interesting and likeable characters, this book grabbed me from the very beginning… An absolutely wonderful story of love and laughs which will warm your heart completely!! Highly recommended!!’ Stardust Book Reviews

‘If you’re looking for a lovely, heart-warming contemporary romance, grab yourself a copy of this delightful story… This is such a superb read, a great story to escape into with all the trials and tribulations… I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending it’ Splashes Into Books

‘What a fantastic book, I couldn’t stop reading it and was sorry when I got to the end – I wanted more… I would have no hesitation in recommending.’ NetGalley Reviewer.

Donna Ashcroft has sold over 100,000 books since she started publishing with Bookouture in October 2018

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.