The Loving Husband

  • Author Christobel Kent
  • Narrator Clare Corbett
  • Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
  • Run Time 11 hours and 26 minutes
  • Format Audio
  • Genre Crime and mystery fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK

‘Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours – it’s unputdownable’
Richard & Judy

For fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Silent Wife, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems…

Fran Hall and her husband Nathan have moved with their two children to a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens – a chance to get away from London and have a fresh start.

But when Fran wakes one night to find Nathan gone, she makes a devastating discovery. As questions about her husband and her relationships start to mount, Fran’s life begins to spiral out of control.

What is she hiding from the police about her marriage, and does she really know the man she shared her bed with?

THE LOVING HUSBAND is read by Clare Corbett, the acclaimed narrator of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and THE WIDOW

Critics Review

  • Wow. This one will keep your bedside light on until the small hours – it’s unputdownable.

    Richard & Judy
  • Kent is an extremely fine writer and makes terrific use in particular of the Fens’ waterlogged, empty landscape in which secrets can be easily buried if never quite forgotten . . . Terrifyingly good

    Metro
  • Shocking in the extreme. The Loving Husband is a twisted psychological thriller

    Sun
  • Atmospheric and psychologically acute throughout Sunday Times

    Sunday Times
  • Christobel Kent is one of our most assured thriller writers. The Loving Husband is a perfectly paced and plotted novel

    Good Housekeeping
  • Firmly in the currently fashionable “domestic noir” genre, but this is no catchpenny trend-chasing; Kent effortlessly rises above other entries in the field . . . the familiar is confronted and inverted and Kent’s ace in the hole is her keen penetration of the characters’ psychology, particularly that of beleaguered heroine Fran

    Financial Times

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.