x-book ®

The Midnight Killing

Listen to a sample

What to expect

She’d cycled this way hundreds of times before, every twist and turn familiar. She didn’t know this would be the last. 

When the body of local architect James McCallum is found hanging in the grounds of his former school one cold, dark night, DI Danny Stowe and forensic psychologist Rose Lainey suspect foul play behind his apparent suicide.

To their astonishment, the trail leads to a 20-year-old cold case of a missing girl, and a teenage party. But what was James’ fascination with the case and how is it linked to his death?

Secrets don’t stay buried forever – but the real killer will stop at nothing to hide theirs…

An absolutely gripping and totally unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Val McDermid and Rachel Caine.  

Readers love Sharon Dempsey

‘Gripping and pacy’ Steve Cavanagh

‘A twisting tale of intrigue that never lets up.’ Brian McGilloway

‘A dark, twisting, compelling tale’ Stuart Neville

‘A dark, disturbing and gripping read perfect for fans of Jane Casey, Patricia Gibney and Brian McGilloway’ Claire Allan

‘Deftly and compellingly written’ Anthony J Quinn

‘An intriguing, sophisticated read told in an authentic voice’ Kelly Creighton

‘A hugely promising debut’ Irish Independent

Critics Review

  • ‘Gripping and pacy’ Steve Cavanagh

    ‘A hugely promising debut’ Irish Independent

    ‘A dark, disturbing and gripping read perfect for fans of Jane Casey, Patricia Gibney and Brian McGilloway. Sharon Dempsey will be one to watch!’ Claire Allan

    ‘Deftly and compellingly written, Sharon Dempsey cleverly brings the strands of this story together and creates a disturbing journey towards a shocking truth.’ Anthony Quinn

    ‘A gripping exploration of fractured families, grieving children and how the crimes of yesterday still echo today … A twisting tale of intrigue that never lets up.’ Brian McGilloway

    ‘An intriguing, sophisticated read told in an authentic voice … A powerful story about conflict and the shadows it leaves behind.’ Kelly Creighton

    ‘A dark, twisting, compelling tale … Sharon is part of a new generation of crime writers able to mine Northern Ireland’s troubled history to craft gripping stories for today.’ Stuart Neville

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.