x-book ®

The Mother Fault

  • Author Kate Mildenhall
  • Narrator Claudia Karvan
  • Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
  • Run Time 9 hours and 39 minutes
  • Format x-book®
  • Genre Speculative fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘Thrilling…a triumph of a novel’ JANE HARPER

‘Beautiful writing, emotional depth, page-turning plot’ CHRIS HAMMER

In a futuristic world, danger awaits… if you loved THE LAST and THE HANDMAID’S TALE you will love this!

To keep her children safe, she must put their lives at risk …

In suburban Australia, Mim and her two children live as quietly as they can. Around them, a near-future world is descending into chaos: government officials have taken absolute control, but not everybody wants to obey the rules.

When Mim’s husband Ben mysteriously disappears, Mim realises that she and her children are in great danger. Together, they must set off on the journey of a lifetime to find Ben. The government are trying to track them down, but Mim will do anything to keep her family safe – even if it means risking all their lives.

Can the world ever return to normality, and their family to what it was?

A beautifully written dystopian thriller that is eerily right for our times, for fans of THE LAST, Margaret Atwood, and Jane Harper.

Critics Review

  •  Praise for The Mother Fault

    ‘Beautiful writing, emotional depth, page-turning plot’ Chris Hammer, author of Scrublands

    ‘Thrilling – a triumph of a novel’ Jane Harper, author of The Dry

    ‘As visionary as Margaret Atwood’ J.P. Pomare

    ‘Smart, confronting and compelling’ Melanie Cheng

    ‘A riveting thriller’ Sally Piper

    ‘A shattering lightning bolt of a book’ Karen Viggers

    ‘Beautiful’ Alice Robinson

    ‘Chillingly plausible’ Australian Women’s Weekly

    ‘Fast-paced, passionately written’ Big Issue

    ‘Propelled by urgency and intrigue’ Sydney Morning Herald

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.