x-book ®

The Promise

Listen to a sample

What to expect

A love story that will break your heart. Perfect for fans of Karen Swann.

‘Gripping’ Bella

‘We defy you not to have an ugly cry when reading’ Belfast Telegraph

‘A heart-rending tale’ Irish News

‘[A] tale of love’ Sunday Times Ireland

Some bonds can never be broken

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times of the Troubles, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments.

It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose.
With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love…?

Critics Review

  • ‘Written with genuine emotion – we defy you not to have an ugly cry when reading – this is another winner from Emma.’Belfast Telegraph

    ‘Gripping’Bella

    ‘A heart-rending tale’Irish News

    ‘[A] tale of love’ Sunday Times Ireland

    ‘Promises to be another bestseller’Belfast Telegraph

    Praise for Emma Heatherington:

    ‘A gorgeous will they/won’t they love story, with depth and surprising twists’ Sun

    ‘A lovely, heart-warming read’ Closer

    ‘A proper winter heart-warmerHeat

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.