The Sea Watch

Listen to a sample

What to expect

The Sea Watch is the sixth book in the critically acclaimed epic fantasy series Shadows of the Apt by Adrian Tchaikovsky.

Danger lurks beneath dark waters . . .

A shadow is falling over Collegium. Despite the tenuous peace, Stenwold Maker knows that the Empire will return for his city. Even as he tries to prepare for the resurgence of the black and gold army, a hidden threat is working against his people. Ships that sail from Collegium’s harbour are being attacked, sunk by pirates. Some just go missing . . .

Lulled by the spread of lies and false promises, Stenwold’s allies are falling away. He faces betrayal on every side, and the Empire is just waiting for the first sign of weakness to strike. But they are not the only power that has its eyes on Collegium. And even with all their military strength and technology, they may not be powerful enough to stave off the forces massing in the darkness.

The Sea Watch is followed by the seventh book in the Shadows of the Apt series, Heirs of the Blade.

Critics Review

  • Brimming with imagination

  • The Shadows of the Apt series is simply one of the best epic fantasy series out there

    LEC Book Reviews
  • Super worldbuilding, great characters and extreme inventiveness

    Fantasy Book Critic
  • Epic fantasy at its best. Gripping, original and multi-layered storytelling from a writer bursting with lots of fascinating ideas

    Walker of Worlds
  • Full of sparking, speculative innovation

    Stephen Baxter on The Doors of Eden
  • Breathtaking scope and vision. Adrian Tchaikovsky is one of our finest writers

    Gareth Powell on Children of Ruin

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.