The Summer I Robbed A Bank

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Puffin.

Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.


Praise for David O’Doherty’s Danger is Everywhere series:

‘I dislocated my jaw laughing’ Eoin Colfer

‘Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid’ The Times

Brilliantly funny’ Gransnet

© David O’Doherty 2021 P) Penguin Audio 2021

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.