Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

THE NEXT CAPTIVATING NOVEL FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ONE DAY IN DECEMBER

Two Lives. Two Loves. One Impossible Choice.

Lydia and Freddie. Freddie and Lydia. They’ve been together for almost a decade, and Lydia thinks their love is indestructible.

But she’s wrong. Because on her 27th birthday, Freddie dies in a tragic accident.

So now it’s just Lydia, and all she wants to do is hide indoors and sob ’til her eyes fall out. But Lydia knows that Freddie would want her to live her life well. So, enlisting the help of his best friend and her sister Elle, she takes her first tentative steps into the world and starts to live – perhaps even to love – again.

Then something unbelievable happens, and Lydia gets another chance at her old life with Freddie. But what if there’s someone in her new life who wants her to stay?

A heart-breaking, uplifting story for fans of PS I Love You and Jojo Moyes, this gorgeously romantic novel will make you laugh, cry and remind you of what a wonderful gift it is to love and to be loved.

© Josie Silver 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Critics Review

  • Fans of P.S. I Love You will adore this new romantic novel from Josie Silver

    Cosmopolitan
  • I read THE TWO LIVES OF LYDIA BIRD in a single sitting – crying, laughing, and rooting for the heroine, who reminds us that the people we love – and the people we lose – change us, and that who we are at the beginning of our story is never who we are at the end of it. What a beautiful, emotional gift Josie Silver has given us

    Jodi Picoult, author of SMALL GREAT THINGS
  • Heartbreakingly beautiful, butterfly-inducing and laugh out loud funny – you’ve never read a love triangle like this before!

    Paige Toon, author of FIVE YEARS FROM NOW
  • On the hunt for a romantic novel which will make you feel all the feels? This book by Josie Silver is definitely one for fans of a good old chick-lit (you can’t go wrong)

    Glamour, 'Best Books of 2020'
  • Original, emotional and utterly absorbing. I couldn’t put it down

    Heidi Swain, author of THE CHRISTMAS WISHLIST
  • This beautiful book had me crying within the first few pages. From the first page, I knew that Lydia Bird was a character that would stay with me for a very long time

    Emma Cooper, author of THE FIRST TIME I SAW YOU

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.