Velocity Weapon

  • Author Megan E. O'Keefe
  • Narrator Joe Jameson
  • Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
  • Run Time 18 hours and 21 minutes
  • Format Audio
  • Genre Science fiction.

Listen to a sample

What to expect

‘A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue’ Guardian

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE PHILIP K. DICK AWARD***

The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding.

She expected to be recovered by salvage-medics and to awaken in friendly hands, patched-up and ready to rejoin the fight. Instead she wakes up 230 years later, on a deserted enemy starship called The Light of Berossus – or, as he prefers to call himself, ‘Bero’.

Bero tells Sanda the war is lost. That the entire star system is dead.

But is that the full story? After all, in the vastness of space, anything is possible . . .

Dazzling space battles, deadly galactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, an epic space opera from award-winning author Megan E. O’Keefe.

Praise for Velocity Weapon

‘An entertaining SF thriller’ SciFiNow

‘Furious action sequences, funny dialogue, and a plot that will keep you guessing every step of the way’ K. B. Wagers

‘Velocity Weapon is fast-paced, twisty, edge-of-your-seat fun. Space opera fans are in for a massive treat!’
Marina J. Lostetter

Critics Review

  • A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue

    Guardian
  • A complicated, thoughtful tale that skillfully interweaves intrigue, action, and strong characterization

    Publishers Weekly
  • Full of twists, feints, and deception, O’Keefe’s latest presents a visionary world rife with
    political intrigue and space adventure

    Booklist - starred review
  • A well-written tale of space adventure, underhanded political dealings and AI rights all wrapped up in a fast-paced plot and a well-thought-out world. A must-read for fans of James S. A. Corey and Alastair Reynolds

    Bookbag
  • Meticulously plotted, edge-of-your-seat space opera with a soul; a highly promising science-fiction debut

    Kirkus
  • O’Keefe keeps the pace pumping, timing the big twists perfectly

    SFX

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.