We All Begin As Strangers

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Heathcote, England – 1984

A mysterious figure is sneaking into homes through backdoors and open windows. Known locally as ‘the Fox’, he knows everything about everyone – leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna disappears, everyone believes the Fox is responsible.

For the villagers, finding Anna will be difficult – but stopping the Fox from exposing their darkest secrets might just be impossible…

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Critics Review

  • Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you’ll want to recommend to everyone – for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

    Wonderful… Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

    Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
  • A dazzling debut… Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange

    DAILY MAIL
  • A great summer read… Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end

    THE POOL
  • Explores ideas of loneliness and longing

    The i Newspaper
  • I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No ‘characters’ in sight – just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people

    Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
  • I was reminded of William Golding’s ‘The Lord of The Flies’… A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken

    WRITING.IE

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.