x-book ®

Woman In The Lake

Listen to a sample

What to expect

For fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees comes a captivating novel about two women, separated by centuries, whose fates are bound together by one haunting secret.

***

‘A fascinating tale with intriguing twists.’ Barbara Erskine
‘I was hooked from the first pages.’ Gill Paul
‘Atmospheric and compelling’ Sarah Morgan
‘You just can’t put it down. Brilliant!’ Katie Fforde

***

‘I see it all again: the silver moon swimming beneath the water and the golden gown billowing out about her…’

1765: Lady Isabella Gerard asks her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it. Its shimmering beauty has been tainted by the actions of her husband the night before.

Three months later: Lord Eustace Gerard stands beside the lake looking down at the woman in the golden gown. As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, it’s clear this is not his intended victim…

1996: Fenella Brightwell steals a stunning gown from a stately home. Twenty years later and reeling from the end of an abusive marriage, she wonders if it has cursed her all this time. Now she’s determined to discover the history behind the beautiful golden dress…

***

Also published in ebook as The Woman in the Golden Dress.

Critics Review

  • Praise for The Woman in the Lake:

    ‘A gorgeous novel, so fresh and original. And the tension! I was on the edge of my seat.’ Jenny Ashcroft

    ‘With its intriguing premise and engaging characters, this fresh take on the time-slip novel completely won me over.’
    Kate Riordan

    ‘Kept me turning the pages right to the very end’ Katherine Webb

    ‘A sumptuous, spell-binding story full of mystery, secrets, heartbreak and magic that will keep you guessing.’ Red Online

    ‘Cornick ably interweaves genres, eras and narratives in this romantic suspense novel with paranormal elements… Romance fans will be most satisfied.’ Publishers Weekly

    Praise for Nicola Cornick:

    ‘There is much to enjoy in a sumptuous novel that slips between present day and 1557.’ Sunday Mirror

    ‘Ms. Cornick is first-class, queen of her game.’ Romance Junkies

    ‘A rising star.’ Publishers Weekly

    ‘Fans of Kate Morton will enjoy this gripping tale.’ Candis

    ‘This compelling yet poignant and at times frightening story calls out to every historical fiction lovers out there to read it and enjoy its glory forever’ Book Stop Corner

    ‘Her books are fabulous’. New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.