Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman’s ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series – perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley – a Cross – first met Callum McGregor – a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful – and deadly.

Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses – including for Sephy and Callum’s families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you’re playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won’t be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

‘The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be’ – Stormzy

‘The most original book I’ve ever read’ Benjamin Zephaniah

‘Blackman “gets” people . . . she “gets” humanity as a whole, too’ Guardian

‘Powerful’ Sunday Times

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman’s ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series – perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley – a Cross – first met Callum McGregor – a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful – and deadly.

Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses – including for Sephy and Callum’s families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you’re playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won’t be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

‘The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be’ – Stormzy

‘The most original book I’ve ever read’ Benjamin Zephaniah

‘Blackman “gets” people . . . she “gets” humanity as a whole, too’ Guardian

‘Powerful’ Sunday Times

Critics Review

  • Crossfire is searing, political and furious. Malorie’s world building is sublime and the way the Noughts & Crosses series holds a mirror up to society is unrivalled

    Juno Dawson, author of Clean and Meat Market
  • Rich in moral and social issues, it is devastating about racial attitudes

    The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week
  • [Malorie Blackman] is a supremely suspenseful writer . . . [a] nail-biting drama

    Daily Telegraph
  • Blackman is great at explosive love-hate relationships . . . [and] also has a talent for producing relatable characters, gutsy dialogue and page-turning action. Crossfire is a cracking story that fans of the series will love.

    Guardian
  • The fast-paced drama will resonate with internet-era teens – and there’s more to come

    Daily Mail
  • The cliffhanger ending will leave fans desperately awaiting the next instalment

    Mail on Sunday - 'Must-Read Books of the Year'

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.