Edge of the Grave

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Winner of The Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year 2021

Shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021 and longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown 2021


‘A mesmerizing debut. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off’ – Peter James

Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read’ – Adrian McKinty, bestselling author of The Chain

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case – despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer – or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

‘A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city . . . Chilling and brutal, but also deeply moving and, most importantly, beautifully written’ – Mark Billingham

Critics Review

  • I’ve been waiting years to read a truly gripping historical crime novel set in Glasgow. That wait is over. Edge of the Grave is astounding. Tense, absorbing and dripping with gallus Glasgow humour, this book is absolutely wonderful

    Abir Mukherjee, bestselling author of the Wyndham & Banerjee series
  • A mesmerizing debut – raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off

    Peter James, number one bestselling author of the DS Roy Grace series
  • A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can’t wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut

    Mark Billingham
  • Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire’s Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read

    Adrian McKinty, bestselling author of The Chain
  • A Glaswegian version of Peaky Blinders, with razor gangs brawling in the street and festering family secrets . . . it’s a dark and powerful story

    Sunday Times
  • A hugely impressive debut

    Evening Standard

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.