Feel Free

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Feel Free by Zadie Smith, read by Nikki Amuka-Bird.

From the MAN BOOKER PRIZE- and WOMEN’S PRIZE-SHORTLISTED author of Changing My Mind and Swing Time – discover a second unmissable collection of essays from Zadie Smith

‘Generous, courageous, and tough-minded… [A] classic English essayist in the vein of Orwell, Woolf and Angela Carter’ Financial Times

‘Engrossing, astute… Should you read this brilliant book? Absolutely’ Independent

‘Generous and curious’ Evening Standard

‘Brilliant, lively and frequently hilarious… She’s one of the brightest minds in English literature today’ NPR

No subject is too fringe or too mainstream for the unstoppable Zadie Smith. From social media to the environment, from Jay-Z to Karl Ove Knausgaard, she has boundless curiosity and the boundless wit to match. In Feel Free, pop culture, high culture, social change and political debate all get the Zadie Smith treatment, dissected with razor-sharp intellect, set brilliantly against the context of the utterly contemporary, and considered with a deep humanity and compassion.

This electrifying new collection showcases its author as a true literary powerhouse, demonstrating once again her credentials as an essential voice of her generation.

Critics Review

  • Refreshingly insightful on any number of topics, from Martin Buber to Justin Bieber…Reviewing a book by her countryman Geoff Dyer, [Smith] writes that she is most struck by ‘his tone. Its simplicity, its classlessness, its accessibility and yet its erudition-the combination is a trick few British writers ever pull off.’ Without question, Smith is one of them

    TIME Magazine
  • Fascinating stuff!

    Love It!
  • The strongest essays showcase Smith’s skills as an art, literary and cultural critic…One of the pleasures of reading Feel Free is in savoring Smith’s joy when she writes about formative cultural experiences. As with any book of opinions, Feel Free makes claims one might dispute…But a collection of essays that doesn’t prompt disagreements would be a dull book, and Feel Free is anything but dull

    Houston Chronicle
  • The joy of this collection is Smith’s straightforward phrasing, often summing up her thesis with a single thoughtful sentence. Her words are not overwritten; they do not distract from her purpose, nor are they a barrier to her argument; they are welcoming. I found myself re-reading the brightest of these sentences over and again, marveling at her humor and her brevity

    Associated Press
  • Publisher’s Description: Dazzlingly insightful, explosively funny and ever-timely, essential writer Zadie Smith is back with a second unmissable collection of essays, following up her critically acclaimed collection, Changing My Mind

    Penguin
  • A preturnaturally gifted writer with a voice that’s street-smart and learned, sassy and philosophical all at the same time

    The New York Times

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.