For Your Own Good

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

Teddy Crutcher has won Teacher of the Year at the prestigious Belmont Academy. Everyone thinks he’s brilliant. Only you know the truth.

They all smile when he tells us his wife couldn’t be more proud – though if they stopped to think, they would realise no-one has seen her in a while.

They’re impressed when he doesn’t let anything distract him – even the tragic death of a school parent. Even when the whispers start, saying it was murder.

You’re sure Teddy is hiding something about what happened that day. You’re sure you can prove it.

You just didn’t stop to think that when it comes to catching a killer, there’s no place more dangerous than just one step behind…

PRAISE FOR SAMANTHA DOWNING

‘Dark, sly and delicious…totally original – and totally compelling’ JP Delaney, bestselling author of Playing Nice

‘Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end’ BA Paris

‘Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner – full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense’ Harlan Coben

‘The next Gone GirlMarie Claire

‘The twist at the end of the first chapter made me read through the night’ Jane Corry

© Samantha Downing 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Critics Review

  • Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever. I didn’t think she could outdo My Lovely Wife but I think this one tops it.

    Sarah Pinborough
  • An irresistibly dark tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare

    TM Logan, author of Trust Me and The Holiday
  • Dark, sly and delicious…totally original – and totally compelling

    JP Delaney
  • Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end

    BA Paris
  • Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies will love this fast-paced thriller

    Sunday Express
  • I raced through this, and loved every twist and turn. Brilliant characterisation and ingenious plotting make it an absolute winner.

    Jill Mansell

More from the same

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.