Lessons in Chemistry

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Brought to you by Penguin.

INCLUDES AN EXCLUSIVE AUTHOR INTERVIEW WITH PANDORA SYKES

‘Your ability to change everything – including yourself – starts here’ ELIZABETH ZOTT

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.

But it’s the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute take a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with – of all things – her mind. True chemistry results.

But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later, Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America’s most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth’s unusual approach to cooking (‘combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride’) proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn’t just teaching women to cook. She’s daring them to change the status quo.

Meet the unconventional, uncompromising Elizabeth Zott.

Lessons in Chemistry is a vibrant and original story of hope and staying true to yourself. Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and brimming with life and generosity and courage’ RACHEL JOYCE

‘A book that sparks joy with every page’ ELIZABETH DAY

‘I loved Lessons in Chemistry and am devastated to have finished it!’ NIGELLA LAWSON

© Bonnie Garmus 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

Critics Review

  • It’s the world versus Elizabeth Zott, an extraordinary woman determined to live on her own terms, and I had no trouble choosing a side. Lessons in Chemistry is a page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty

    MAGGIE SHIPSTEAD, author of GREAT CIRCLE
  • A transporting read, recommended for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs Maisel

    STYLIST MAGAZINE, BOOKS TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2022
  • A book that sparks joy with every page. LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY is both funny and rousing: it had me laughing one minute and air-punching the next. Bonnie Garmus has created an unforgettable heroine

    ELIZABETH DAY
  • Lessons in Chemistry is a vibrant and original story of hope and staying true to yourself. Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and brimming with life and generosity and courage

    RACHEL JOYCE
  • A timeless book. Elizabeth Zott is an iconic heroine – a feminist who refuses to be quashed, a mother who believes that her child is a person to behold, rather than to mould, and who will leave you, and the lens through which you see the world, quite changed

    PANDORA SYKES

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.