Madness from the Inconstant Moon

Listen to a sample

What to expect

Madness from the Inconstant Moon is a collection of early short science fiction works by Larry Niven, the multiple Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author of the Ringworld series. This classic collection includes “The Inconstant Moon,” the basis for a forthcoming film by The Arrival producer Shawn Levy.

“All the Myriad Ways” (1968)“Passerby” (1969)“For a Foggy Night” (1968)“Wait It Out” (1968)“The Jigsaw Man” (1967)“Not Long before the End” (1969)“Unfinished Story No. 1” (1970)“Unfinished Story No. 2” (1971)“Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex” (essay, 1969)“Exercise in Speculation: The Theory and Practice of Teleportation” (essay, 1969)“The Theory and Practice of Time Travel” (essay, 1971)“Inconstant Moon” (1971)“What Can You Say about Chocolate Covered Manhole Covers?” (1971)“Becalmed in Hell” (1965)

Critics Review

  • “Urbane, assured, and at ease, narrator Bronson Pinchot sounds like he’s sitting on a white leather couch reading this collection of smart short stories and essays in a postmodern penthouse overlooking—well, the universe. With its finely honed eye and ear for scientific realism and thoughtful detail, this collection of ahead-of-their-time gems covers some of Larry Niven’s favorite topics…At eighty years old, Niven remains one of the true grand masters of science fiction, and with Pinchot’s nuanced reading we also find that there’s a very human side to all that hard science, as well. A fine and fun listening experience. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

  • “Niven…lifts readers far from the conventional world—and does it with dash.”

    Los Angeles Times, praise for the author
  • “Niven is a galaxy-class storyteller.”

    Time, praise for the author

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to get tailored content recommendations, product updates and info on new releases. Your data is your own: we commit to protect your data and respect your privacy.